Reaching Out

Today I called my Grandma.

She is 93 years old, and lives alone in the small town she grew up in.

Her husband passed away 2 years ago, and today would have been their 73rd anniversary.

I didn’t really have anything specific to say, and nothing I needed to know. I just called to chat. To ask how she is, hear about her day, tell her about the little things in my life.

Nothing crazy.

But to her, it means a lot. She is touched that I call, that I reach out and make contact. She doesn’t call me very often, you see. Not because she doesn’t want to talk, but because she knows I’m “busy” and she doesn’t want to be bothersome.

We all know people – family and friends alike – that could stand some reaching out. Nothing huge or crazy. Just a note in the mail, or a message online, or yes, a phone call.

Reach out.

Leave a Reply

