Tis the Season

Christmas is coming!

I’ll be honest, as excited as I was for Christmas last year, I ended up having a really hard time when it finally came down to it. It was my first Christmas that I didn’t spend at my parents house, with my immediate family, in the Midwest. And suddenly I was a thousand miles away, living in Texas, having a snowless Christmas, and about to have my first two person Christmas ever.

I was excited, I truly was. But I had this big rush of emotion, and I didn’t know what to do, so I broke down big time at the last minute and was absolutely miserable.

We did redeem it, and I did  have a good first Christmas with my husband here in Texas, but there was definitely a lot of emotions involved!

This Christmas I am looking forward to having my in-laws with us, celebrating with the friends we’ve made in the last year, and hopefully embracing fewer crazy emotions!

Do you remember your first Christmas away from your families? Was it a positive experience, or somewhat sad/emotional/difficult?

Leave a Reply

